Vignette: Sour Magic

They said I couldn’t be a mage because I lacked instinct. I couldn’t tell when the magic was about to turn sour. That’s why they rejected my application to the academy.

But that was before the plague. Before the devastation that ripped through their halls.

The academy’s top mages were helpless. They themselves were dropping like flies.The academy was in a state of crisis. And suddenly, me and my sour magic were in high demand.

I’m a top mage now. I just needed practice. They were too arrogant to see it, but I had talent all along.

Creating the plague was easy. It only took me a few tries to get it right. The end result was pungently effective.

It turns out sour magic is my specialty.

 

 

Daily Prompt:Instinct

10 thoughts on “Vignette: Sour Magic

  1. Pingback: Vignette: The Obsidian City | Isabel Caves

  2. Pingback: Alienne of Amber Falls | Isabel Caves

  3. Pingback: The Obsidian City (Part 2) | Isabel Caves

  4. Pingback: Microfiction: The Obsidian City (Part 3) | Isabel Caves

Leave a Reply

