Vignette: Spirit

I made the controversial decision to stay on Earth.

The planet was dying, and people were leaving in hordes.

But I stayed.

Despite all the warnings, I stayed.

There’s something here, something we didn’t know about. During the day it tugs at me. At night I feel its rasping breath in my ear. The voice is distant, a crackle on the horizon, but I hear it clearly:

Help me.

Nourish my dying soils. Heal my poisoned waters.

Oh ye who have suckled at my breast – heed my plea. Do not abandon your mother to perish.

 

Daily Prompt:Controversy

Leave a Reply

