Vignette: Chasing Sleep

Sleep cast a sympathetic smile in my direction. “You won’t catch me,” he said. His silver cloak billowed around his feet. “You’ve been chasing me for days now.”

“I caught you once,” I said. “Twice.”

“For a few turns of the clock.” He looked thoughtful. “But I always slip away in the end, don’t I?” He shook his head sadly. The shimmer of his cloak began to fade.

“Wait!” I cried.

But it was too late.

In a wisp of silver smoke he was gone again.

 

Daily Prompt:Minimal

One thought on “Vignette: Chasing Sleep

  1. Pingback: Fear

Leave a Reply

