Vignette: Strange Beings

Strange beings haunt the stars.

I’ve known it since I was a child.

I’d look to the stars and wonder what was out there. I’d wonder about the tales I’d heard.

I guess I never stopped wondering. When they called for volunteers for the Galactic Mission I was first in line. I spent decades zipping through the galaxy, my body frozen and refrozen along with my colleagues.

We visited desolate planets beyond the edge of civilisation, and discovered many wondrous things.

But it was not enough for me.

I wanted to see the mysteries beyond this universe, and beyond even that.

I split from my colleagues.

I took one of the ships with me and never turned back.

I’ve discovered so much since then, and it has changed me. I haven’t seen my home planet in centuries. I don’t know if I’d recognize it if I did.

I have become one of those strange beings that haunt the stars.

 

 

Daily Prompt:Zip

6 thoughts on “Vignette: Strange Beings

Leave a Reply

